Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Эксперты и органы власти обсудили развитие потенциала по Интегрированному управлению водными ресурсами (ИУВР) в Центральной Азии

24 Мая 2011

Суб-региональный семинар, организаторами которого выступили Кластерное бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы и ПРООН в рамках проекта «Продвижение ИУВР и усиление трансграничного диалога в Центральной Азии», при финансовой поддержке Европейского Союза, Финляндии и сети Cap-Net, состоялся 16-17 мая 2011 в Алматы.

Семинар собрал около 50 представителей из четырех стран Центральной Азии (Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Таджикистана и Узбекистана) - руководителей и экспертов министерств и ведомств, вовлеченных в управление водными ресурсами, ВУЗов, объединений водохозяйственных организаций, ресурсных центров, НКО, экспертов и представителей международных и партнерских организаций.

Целями семинара являлись:
  • обзор опыта наращивания потенциала в водном секторе;
  • обмен информацией и знаниями по имеющимся ресурсам в области ИУВР;
  • разработка плана действий и рекомендаций для укрепления потенциала и сотрудничества между различными вовлеченными секторами и партнерами в Центрально-Азиатском регионе.

В приветственной речи г-н Анарбек Орман, председатель Комитета водных ресурсов МСХ Казахстана, отметил, что принципы ИУВР важны для Казахстана. Ежегодно более 29 миллиардов тенге выделяется из госбюджета на модернизацию водной инфраструктуры. Г-н Рене Малли, Глава отдела технического содействия Представительства Европейского Союза в Казахстане, отметил, что сотрудничество в области управления водными ресурсами является приоритетным направлением для Европейского Союза в Центральноазиатском регионе, и влияет на все секторы экономики и стабильность всех стран региона. Г-н Султон Рахимов, первый заместитель министра водных ресурсов и мелиорации Таджикистана, и д-р Темба Гумбо, Директор международной сети Cap-Net, также отметили важность и своевременность обсуждаемых вопросов и подчеркнули необходимость совместных действий.

Вводные презентации и дискуссия развернулась вокруг обсуждения трех основных направлений работы по наращиванию потенциала: проблемы подготовки кадров для водного хозяйства, текущая ситуация и перспективы переподготовки специалистов по тематике управления водными ресурсами и развитие сетевого взаимодействия между специалистами в области ИУВР. Было отмечено, что укрепление потенциала это долгосрочный процесс и успешная деятельность требует не только соответствующих навыков и организационных процедур, но и поддержки и понимания на самых высоких уровнях власти.

На семинаре был представлен проект обзора по ситуации в области образования в водной сфере – эксперты проанализировали практику преподавания в университетах региона, выявили проблемы и подготовили рекомендации. Обзор был составлен на базе опроса более 20 Вузов, а также специалистов-водников и водных ведомств Казахстана, Кыргызстана и Таджикистана. Было отмечено отсутствие в Классификаторе специальностей высшего образования многих чрезвычайно необходимых специальностей, в частности, инженерного профиля, несовершенства государственных стандартов по отдельным специальностям и проблемы отсутствия у выпускников теоретических и практических навыков по многим важным предметам. В обзоре подчеркивается, что Министерства образования и водные ведомства должны скоординировать свои действия по пересмотру перечня специальностей и обеспечить тесную связь образовательного процесса и практики.

Широкую дискуссию вызвали вопросы развития потенциала бассейновых организаций и ассоциаций водопользователей на местном уровне. Бассейновые советы являются коллегиальными совещательными органами, в которые входят представители местных органов власти, водопользователи, общественные организации – они определяют политику и планы использования водных ресурсов на территории бассейнов рек. Большую роль в работе бассейновых советов должны играть местные НПО, представляющие большую группу первичных водопользователей - население. К сожалению, на уровне многих организаций всегда отдает приоритет техническому оснащению и развитию навыков специалистов в выполнении функциональных обязанностей, поэтому развитие представлений и знаний о целях управления водными ресурсами и приоритетах для речного бассейна часто остаются на периферии внимания.

Обсуждение роли сетей, партнерств и согласование общих рекомендаций по их развитию а также деятельности для обеспечения устойчивого процесса наращивания потенциала в регионе было инициировано Директором сети CАP-Net, д-ром Гумбо - CАP-Net известна среди специалистов созданием обучающих материалов по вопросам управления водными ресурсами для различных целевых групп и продвижением сетевого взаимодействия.

В целом, суб-региональный семинар стал примером открытого обсуждения и продуктивной платформой для обсуждения вызовов и выработки рекомендаций по наращиванию потенциала по ИУВР на всех уровнях управления водными ресурсами. Рекомендации, разработанные участниками семинара, будут направлены в соответствующие министерства и ведомства и доступны на сайтах партнеров.

За дополнительной информацией обращайтесь в Кластерное Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы к г-ну Симону Саркисяну и в Представительство Регионального Центра ПРООН по Европе и СНГ в Алматы к г-же Наталье Алексеевой.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/capacity-development-issues-on-integrated-water-resource-management-iwrm-in-central-asia

Capacity Development issues on Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in Central Asia discussed by authorities and experts

24 May 2011

Sub-regional workshop Capacity building for Integrated Water Resource Management in Central Asia" was organized by the UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty and the UNDP funded "Promotion of IWRM and strengthening transboundary dialogue in Central Asia" project, with financial support from the European Union, Finland and Cap-net network of was conducted on 16-17 May 2011 in Almaty.

The workshop gathered about 50 participants from four Central Asian countries (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan) - leaders and experts from ministries and agencies involved in water resource management, universities, associations of water management organizations, resource centers, NGOs, experts and representatives of international and partner organizations.

The purpos of the workshop was:
  • review of experience in capacity building in the water sector;
  • information and knowledge sharing on IWRM available resources;
  • development of action plan and recommendations for capacity building and cooperation between different sectors and partners involved in Central Asia.

The seminar was opened by welcoming speeches of Messrs. Anarbek Orman, Chairman of the Water Resources Ministry of Agriculture of Kazakhstan, Sulton Rakhimov, I-st Deputy for the Minister of Water Resources and Land Reclamation of Tajikistan, Rene Mally, Head of Technical Support the European Union Delegation in Kazakhstan, and Themba Gumbo, Director of the international network of Cap-Net. All speakers underlined the importance of the issues to be discussed and highlighted the need for joint action.

Introductory presentation and discussions were on three main areas of activity of capacity building: problems of trainings for the water industry; current situation and prospects for retraining specialists on water resources management, and; development of networking between professionals in the field of IWRM.

Leading expert of UNDP Regional Center in Bratislava, Mr. Roberto Bernardo, in his presentation noted that capacity building is a long-term process, requires skills, organizational procedures as well as the initiatives and good governance at all levels. It is important to establish the effective functioning system at the individual and organizational level. He held a practice session on self-estimation of the capacity, which could be used at the national level or at the level of ministry or river basin organization.

The workshop presented a draft review of education in water resources. The aim of the study was to analyze the teaching practice of issues related to water resources at the universities of Central Asia, in order to identify the problems in education process and make recommendations for improvement. The review was compiled based on survey of more than 20 universities, as well as professionals and water institutions of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. Review, supported by UNESCO and prepared by the expert group, shows the critical situation in the field of education for the water industry that has evolved in the last decade. The experts noted that some specialties not included in the classifier of higher education in Kazakhstan are extremely necessary for the country, specifically engineering specialties, imperfect state of standards for some specialties and lack of graduates in theoretical and practical knowledge on many important subjects. The review stressed that the Ministry of Education and water institutions should coordinate their actions to revise the list of specialties, particularly the allocation of grants for MSc only to the dedicated Universities.

Issues related to capacity development for the Basin Management Organizations and Water User Associations have raised broad discussion. Basin Councils are joint advisory body, which includes representatives of local authorities, water users, community organizations and they determine the policies and plans for the use of water resources at the river basins. Currently, only Kazakhstan has some experience with these councils and encountered the problems and identified capacity development needs for BMOs and BCs. Unfortunately, at the organizational level, acquiring of equipment and gaining of new skills are the first priorities. Development of ideas and knowledge gathering on water resource management and priorities for the river basin remain on the periphery of attention.

Several priorities were formulated and declared by Mr. Alexander Nikolaenko, Regional Adviser GIZ, and the following are among them:
  • Strengthening of technical capacity (equipment);
  • Improving the skills of experts in carrying out functional duties:
  • Improvement of communication skills, report writing, etc.;
  • Improvement of understanding of the principles of IWRM.

According to the CAREC experience, a local NGO should play the main role in BCs through representing a large group of primary water users. The seminar discussed and proposed measures to enhance the role of these organizations in water resources management system and conduct various educational programs for the population.

Discussion of the role of networks and partnerships, consensus on common guidelines for their development and for ensuring sustainable process of capacity development in the region was initiated by the Director of Network CAP-Net, Dr. Gumbo. CAP-Net is known among professionals in creating educational materials on water resources management for different target groups and in its support to networking.

In general, sub-regional workshop was an example of an open and productive platform for discussing challenges and recommendations for capacity building in IWRM at all levels of water management. Recommendations developed by the workshop participants will be sent to relevant ministries and departments and are available on partner sites.

For more information on the workshop, please contact Mr. Simon Sargsyan, Programme Specialist for UNESCO Cluster Almaty Office and Ms. Natalia Alexeeva, Water Programme Coordinator for Representation of UNDP Regional Center for Europe and the CIS in Almaty.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/capacity-development-issues-on-integrated-water-resource-management-iwrm-in-central-asia